A Tree Grows In Brooklyn

atreegrowsinthebook

As I said in my last post, this blog is named after my favorite book in the world, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. Whenever I’m feeling down, I can just flip to a random page and become engrossed in this story. This is a cliche, but I cannot imagine my life without this book.

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is about Francie Nolan and her family from the early 20th century in, of course, Brooklyn. Though the main character is Francie, this is also about the stories of her family, which includes her mother, Katie, her father, Johnny, her brother, Neely, and her aunts, Sissy and Evie, and the rest of the poor immigrant community that they live in. This family lives a very hard life, but they still support each other and work hard to that they give their children the life they wish they had.

View original post 97 more words

Leave a Reply

